Claude Money is the name of an unreleased personal finance feature that Anthropic appears to be preparing for the Claude app on iOS. Screenshots published on 14 September 2026 show a new Money entry in the app’s sidebar and an onboarding screen that invites users to link their bank accounts and ask Claude about spending, plans and more. Anthropic has not announced Claude Money, and nothing about its data provider, price, countries or launch date is confirmed.

The sighting came from TestingCatalog, the site that tracks unreleased AI features and that earlier spotted the Max effort usage warning on the Claude iOS app and Claude Hub on mobile. If Claude Money ships as the screens suggest, Claude would join ChatGPT and Perplexity in offering a native way to ground answers in a person’s real balances and transactions, rather than in statements pasted into a chat.

This article sets out what the Claude Money screenshots show, what they do not, how the feature would compare with its closest rivals, and the privacy and regulatory questions Anthropic will have to answer before anyone links a current account. It also covers the routes that already let people connect financial data to Claude, because several of them exist today.

What the Claude Money Leak Actually Shows

claude money personal finance ios app b cash machine kiosk with blank screen

Two screenshots carry the whole Claude Money story, so they are worth reading closely. Both were taken on an iPhone at 6:42 on a 5G connection, and both show the current Claude interface with one addition.

A Money tab sits second in the sidebar

The first image shows the Claude sidebar. Money appears directly below Chats and above Code, Artifacts, Dispatch and Cowork, with a small classical bank-building icon beside it. That placement matters. Anthropic has put Claude Money near the top of the navigation, above tools it has spent the past year promoting, which suggests a product surface rather than a buried setting.

A list of pinned and recent chats sits underneath, including one titled Testing catalog, so the screenshot comes from a working account rather than a design mock-up. According to TestingCatalog, no equivalent Claude Money entry has surfaced on Claude’s web interface yet.

The onboarding screen promises bank linking

The second image is the Claude Money start screen. A line drawing of a piggy bank with a coin sits above the heading “Understand your money with Claude”. Beneath it, the sub-heading reads “Link your bank accounts and ask Claude about spending, plans, and more.” A single “Get started” button, again marked with the bank icon, is the only action on the page.

That copy is short, but it confirms three things. Claude Money is about linked accounts rather than uploaded files. It is framed around questions rather than a fixed dashboard. And the word “plans” hints at forward-looking budgeting as well as a record of past spending. It does not say which banks, which countries or which account types.

Where the Claude Money sighting came from

TestingCatalog published its report, Anthropic prepares Claude Money for personal finance, at 13:07 UTC on 14 September. Its X account posted the two screenshots about a minute later, describing Claude Money as “Anthropic’s personal finance solution that lets users connect their bank accounts to Claude” and adding that the name “sounds like Claude Monet!”. By late evening UK time the post had passed 128,000 views, with 705 likes and 166 bookmarks.

DetailWhat the screenshots showStatus
Name“Money” in the sidebar; “Claude Money” in TestingCatalog’s postSeen
Sidebar positionSecond, below Chats and above Code, Artifacts, Dispatch and CoworkSeen
Headline copy“Understand your money with Claude”Seen
Promise“Link your bank accounts and ask Claude about spending, plans, and more.”Seen
ActionOne “Get started” button with a bank iconSeen
PlatformClaude app on iPhone; no web entry reportediOS only so far
Data providerNot shownUnknown
Account types and countriesNot shownUnknown
Price and plansNot shownUnknown
Launch dateNot shownUnknown

The honest summary is that Claude Money exists as interface, not as a launched product. Interface screens can sit inside an app for weeks before release, and occasionally they never ship at all.

What Claude Money Could Do With Linked Accounts

claude money personal finance ios app c squirrel sitting upright holding an acorn

The screens say little about features, but the gap between how people use Claude for money today and what a linked account allows is easy to describe.

From uploaded statements to a live connection

Today, a Claude user who wants help with a budget usually exports a bank statement or a CSV file and uploads it to a chat. That works, but the analysis is only as current as the last export, and the context disappears unless the user repeats it. TestingCatalog describes Claude Money as giving Claude “persistent access to a user’s financial context, removing the need to manually upload bank statements or transaction exports.”

A persistent connection changes the kind of help Claude can give. Instead of answering one question about one file, Claude Money could compare months, notice when a bill rises and keep a running picture of where the money goes.

The questions Claude Money is expected to answer

TestingCatalog lists the plausible jobs: analysing spending, identifying recurring payments, summarising balances, visualising trends, answering budgeting questions and, eventually, helping users plan financial decisions. These are inferences from the onboarding copy and from what rivals already offer, not Claude Money features Anthropic has confirmed.

The rival products show what “spending, plans, and more” tends to mean in practice. OpenAI’s Finances dashboard covers portfolio performance, spending, subscriptions and upcoming payments, while Perplexity promotes debt payoff planners, net worth dashboards and cash flow forecasts. A Claude Money launch that did less than that would feel thin next to them.

What nobody has confirmed yet

The list of unknowns is longer than the list of facts. TestingCatalog says the exact account types, data provider and supported actions remain unknown, and that the launch timeline is unknown too. It suggests Claude Money “could arrive within the coming weeks”, but notes that the interface may instead reflect broader internal testing.

There is also no sign of pricing. Claude Money could be free, limited to paid plans as ChatGPT’s version was at first, or tied to usage limits. Anyone planning around Claude Money should treat it as a signal of direction, not as a product they can use.

Why Anthropic Is Building Claude Money for iOS First

claude money personal finance ios app d hedgehog with rounded spine dome

Putting Claude Money in the iPhone app first is not an accident of which build TestingCatalog happened to inspect. The commercial case for mobile has grown quickly this year.

Mobile has become a real revenue line

Estimates from AppMagic, published by Benzinga in August, put Claude’s mobile consumer revenue at $97.2 million in July 2026, up from $7.5 million in January. ChatGPT still led with an estimated $312.2 million in July, but its mobile revenue grew just 28% over the same period. Put another way, Claude earned about 31 cents for every dollar ChatGPT made on mobile in July, against roughly 3 cents in January.

Estimated mobile consumer revenue, AppMagic via Benzinga (US$ millions)
ChatGPT, July 2026 $312.2m
Claude, July 2026 $97.2m
Claude, January 2026 $7.5m

AppMagic’s figures exclude web subscriptions, enterprise contracts and API sales, so they describe only the app-store slice of each business. Downloads tell a different story: Claude recorded an estimated 16.6 million in July against 77.8 million for ChatGPT, and Claude’s downloads fell 3.5% from June while its revenue rose 8.8%. A feature like Claude Money gives existing paying users a reason to open the app every week.

A pattern of mobile-first sightings

Claude Money is not the first Claude feature to surface in the iOS app before anywhere else. In July 2025 TestingCatalog reported memory and remote MCP support in Claude iOS builds, and memory is now on by default for Free, Pro and Max users across web, desktop and mobile. More recently the mobile app showed a usage warning beside the Max effort option and an empty Managed Projects tile ahead of any announcement.

Money is also a naturally mobile subject. People check balances in a queue, react to a card payment on the spot and ask whether they can afford something while standing in a shop. A phone is where that question gets asked, which makes it the obvious first home for Claude Money.

The App Store listing as it stands

Apple’s listing for Claude by Anthropic, published by Anthropic PBC, shows the app was first released on 1 May 2024. The current version, 1.260911.19, went live on 12 September 2026 with the release note “Squashed some bugs and improved the overall experience.” It requires iOS 18.0 or later and holds a 4.7 average from more than 258,000 ratings. Nothing in the public listing mentions Claude Money yet.

Claude Money vs ChatGPT Finances and Perplexity

claude money personal finance ios app e wishing well with pitched roof and crank

Claude Money would enter a category that two rivals have already defined, so their launches are the best guide to what users will expect.

OpenAI set the template in May

OpenAI released a preview of its personal finance experience in ChatGPT to Pro users in the US on 15 May 2026, on web and iOS. On 25 June it expanded to Plus and Pro users in the US on web, iOS and Android. Accounts connect through Plaid, with support for more than 12,000 financial institutions, and OpenAI says Intuit support is coming.

OpenAI says more than 200 million people come to ChatGPT every month for budgeting, investment questions and planning. According to TestingCatalog’s launch coverage, ChatGPT cannot see full account numbers or make changes to accounts, and synced data is deleted within 30 days after an account is disconnected. OpenAI also stresses that the tool “is not a replacement for professional financial advice”.

Perplexity moved first with Plaid

Perplexity expanded its Plaid integration on 9 April 2026, adding checking, savings, credit card and loan accounts to the brokerage linking it already had. Perplexity says the integration is read-only and that “user data never touches Perplexity’s servers”. It also says more than 75% of its users visit monthly to ask financial questions. The more advanced analysis runs through Perplexity Computer, which Plaid says is for Pro and Max users.

How Claude Money compares on paper

The comparison below uses only what each company has published and what the Claude Money screenshots show. Every “Unknown” in the Claude Money column is a question Anthropic has not yet answered.

DetailClaude MoneyChatGPT FinancesPerplexity with Plaid
StatusUnreleased, seen in iOS screensPreview 15 May 2026; wider release 25 June 2026Expanded 9 April 2026
Who can use itUnknownPlus and Pro users in the USAll users can link; Computer analysis for Pro and Max
PlatformsiOS seenWeb, iOS and AndroidNot specified in the announcement
Connection providerUnknownPlaid, with Intuit plannedPlaid
InstitutionsUnknown12,000+12,000+
Can it change accounts?UnknownNo, and cannot see full account numbersNo, read-only
Data handling disclosedNone yetSynced data deleted within 30 days of disconnectingData “never touches Perplexity’s servers”
Finance memoryUnknownFinancial memories users can view and deleteNot stated

Timing is the other gap. By the day of the leak, Perplexity’s bank linking had been live for 158 days and ChatGPT’s preview for 122 days, while the partner connectors that already work inside Claude had a head start of their own.

Days between each finance launch and the Claude Money leak on 14 September 2026
Perplexity bank linking, 9 April 158 days
Intuit apps in Claude, 23 April 144 days
Era in the Claude directory, 6 May 131 days
ChatGPT Finances preview, 15 May 122 days
ChatGPT Finances for Plus, 25 June 81 days

Being late is not fatal in consumer software, but it raises the bar. Claude Money will be judged against products that have had months of real-world feedback, not against an empty field.

How People Connect Finance Data to Claude Today

claude money personal finance ios app f closed jack in the box with side crank

You do not have to wait for Claude Money to connect financial data to Claude. Several companies already offer connectors built on the Model Context Protocol, the open standard Claude uses to reach external tools.

Era Context

Era’s guide, dated 27 February 2026, explains how its Era Context server gives Claude “secure, read-only access” to bank accounts, credit cards and investments. Era uses MX, a regulated financial data provider, to handle bank logins, and says it never stores the credentials. The free Basic tier includes two connected accounts, and Claude can call 33 tools across seven groups.

On 6 May, Era announced it had become the first personal finance connector in Anthropic’s Claude directory, and said Claude could now write to its rule and automation engine, “not just read from” it. Era also says a subsidiary registered with the SEC as an investment adviser is the adviser of record for users on its paid tiers, so regulatory responsibility for advice sits with Era rather than with the AI.

PocketSmith

PocketSmith publishes an official MCP server with two access modes: read-only for questions, or full access if you want the assistant to categorise transactions or edit budget events. It connects through OAuth 2.0 with PKCE and works with Claude on the web, Claude Desktop and Claude Code, as well as other MCP clients.

Intuit apps inside Claude

Intuit and Anthropic announced a multi-year partnership on 24 February 2026. On 23 April, Intuit said TurboTax, Credit Karma, QuickBooks, Mailchimp and Intuit Enterprise Suite were available in Claude. Credit Karma members can connect their accounts and ask Claude to analyse cash flow and spending over time, which is the closest existing experience to what Claude Money promises.

RouteBuilt byWhat it offersAccessDate
Era ContextEraBank, card and investment data through MX; 33 toolsRead-only in the February guide; automation rules added in MayDirectory listing 6 May 2026
PocketSmith MCP serverPocketSmithSpending, budgets, net worth and forecastsRead-only or full accessDocs updated 20 Aug 2026
Intuit appsIntuitTurboTax, Credit Karma, QuickBooks, Mailchimp, Intuit Enterprise SuiteVaries by app23 Apr 2026
Claude for Financial AdvisorsAnthropicAdviser connectors and workflow skillsEnterprise plans14 Sep 2026
Finance agent templatesAnthropicTen agents for banks, insurers and asset managersCowork, Claude Code, Managed Agents5 May 2026
Claude MoneyAnthropicLinked bank accounts in the Claude appUnknownUnreleased

Correcting one early Claude Money report

Crypto Briefing’s write-up of the leak says Anthropic “has already built integrations with established finance tools like Rocket Money and Intuit”. The Intuit half is accurate. The Rocket Money half needs care: Anthropic’s own Rocket Money case study describes the company building Rowan, its personal finance agent, on Claude through Amazon Bedrock. That makes Rocket Money a Claude customer, not a connector inside Claude.

The distinction matters when judging Claude Money. Rowan routes requests through a Haiku 4.5 classifier, runs most subagents on Sonnet 5 and reserves Opus 5 for financial tasks that need deeper reasoning. A native Claude Money tab would put Anthropic in the same consumer market as one of its showcase customers.

Claude Money Sits Inside a Wider Anthropic Finance Push

Most of Anthropic’s finance work so far has targeted professionals. Claude Money would be the first consumer product in that line.

Finance agents for institutions

On 5 May 2026 Anthropic released ten agent templates for financial services work, from a pitch builder and an earnings reviewer to a month-end closer and a KYC screener. They ship as plugins in Claude Cowork and Claude Code, and as cookbooks for Claude Managed Agents. Anthropic said Claude Opus 4.7 led Vals AI’s Finance Agent benchmark at 64.37%.

Claude for Financial Advisors launched the same day

On the same Monday that Claude Money leaked, Anthropic launched Claude for Financial Advisors, which Reuters described as connecting Claude to software from firms including BlackRock, Charles Schwab and Addepar. WealthManagement reported connectors to Envestnet, iCapital, Orion, SS&C Black Diamond, Wealthbox, Wealth.com, Vanguard and Zocks, plus skills for meeting preparation, portfolio rebalance review and compliance review. The plugin runs on Enterprise plans.

Peter Nolan, Anthropic’s head of asset and wealth management, gave WealthManagement a ballpark of $70 to $120 per user per month. He also said, “We aren’t trying to replace any of the tools out there.” That line was about adviser software, but it is a useful test to apply to Claude Money too.

A possible tension with Claude’s own customers

Era, PocketSmith, Credit Karma and Rocket Money all use Claude to reach people who want help with money. A first-party Claude Money tab could send those users to Anthropic instead. It could equally become a front door for partners if Anthropic lets connectors plug into it. The screenshots do not settle which path Anthropic has chosen, and that choice will shape how partners respond.

For wider context on Anthropic’s commercial momentum, see our coverage of Anthropic’s reported choice of Nasdaq for its IPO. A consumer finance product such as Claude Money would add a new revenue line to that story.

Privacy Questions Claude Money Must Answer

Linking a bank account is a bigger step than typing a question. Transaction histories reveal where people live, what they buy, which clinics they visit and who they send money to. Before launch, Claude Money needs clear answers on training, retention, memory and access, which makes it as much a data protection question as a cybersecurity one.

What Anthropic’s consumer terms already say

Anthropic’s consumer terms, updated in 2025, let Free, Pro and Max users choose whether their chats are used to train future models. If a user allows it, retention extends to five years; if not, the existing 30-day retention period applies. Anthropic says it does not sell users’ data to third parties. Whether synced Claude Money transaction data would be handled like chat content is not yet known.

How Claude memory treats sensitive topics

On 25 August 2026 Anthropic unified memory across chat and Claude Cowork. By default, Claude does not store sensitive topics such as health, race, ethnicity, religious beliefs, politics and gender identity. Even with sensitive topics switched on, Claude will not store sensitive identification numbers, criminal history or immigration status. Finances are not named on that list, so how Claude Money uses memory is an open question.

OpenAI’s approach offers a reference point. ChatGPT saves Financial memories, such as a savings goal or money owed to parents, and users can view and delete them from the Finances page.

The Claude Money questions still open

QuestionWhat is published todayStill open for Claude Money
Model trainingConsumer users choose; five-year retention if they opt in, 30 days if notWhether bank data follows the same setting
MemorySensitive topics off by default; ID numbers never storedWhether balances and spending count as sensitive
DeletionChatGPT deletes synced data within 30 days of disconnectionThe deletion window after unlinking
Account accessChatGPT and Perplexity cannot change accountsWhether access is read-only
Data providerPlaid for ChatGPT and Perplexity; MX for EraWhich aggregator Anthropic uses
AdviceOpenAI says its tool is not professional financial adviceHow Anthropic frames the guidance

If Claude Money launches with read-only access, a short deletion window and finance excluded from general memory by default, it would match or beat what rivals disclose. If Anthropic stays silent on any of these points, cautious users should wait.

Why a US-Only Launch Looks Likely

Where Claude Money launches will depend less on Anthropic’s ambitions than on banking plumbing and regulation.

Aggregators and regulation are country-specific

TestingCatalog calls an initial US-only rollout plausible “because of country-specific banking providers, regulatory requirements, and compliance work”, and its X post said Claude Money “will likely launch in the US only, similar to how it works for ChatGPT Finance”. ChatGPT’s and Perplexity’s bank linking both run on Plaid, and Era runs on MX, so the aggregator a company picks largely decides where it can launch.

The US open banking rule is still in flux

In the US, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau published its Section 1033 personal financial data rights rule in November 2024, requiring banks and other providers to make consumers’ data available to authorised third parties. In August 2025 the bureau reopened the question, seeking comment on who can act as a consumer’s representative, whether providers may charge fees for access, and the data security and privacy risks involved. A consumer Claude Money product will have to work within that unsettled framework.

What it means for UK readers

For readers in the UK, the likely answer is that Claude Money will not appear on day one. TestingCatalog expects expansion to regions such as the EU to need additional infrastructure and approvals, and the same logic applies to the UK’s own open banking rules. Until then, UK users who want this kind of help will need a budgeting app with its own bank connections, ideally one that offers a Claude connector.

What Fintech Builders Should Take From Claude Money

The leak is a product story, but it carries lessons for anyone who builds money software.

General assistants are coming for the dashboard

Three of the biggest AI assistants now either offer, or appear to be preparing, bank-linked finance features. For fintech teams that sell a dashboard, that is a warning: the assistant a customer already pays for may answer “where did my money go?” without a separate app. Our guide to building a personal finance app covers the features that still set a product apart.

Build for the connector layer

Era, PocketSmith and Intuit show the other path. Each has made its data reachable from inside Claude and other assistants through MCP. If Claude Money becomes a hub rather than a walled garden, those connectors are how a specialist app stays in the conversation. That is the practical side of open finance, where permissioned data follows the customer.

Trust is the product

Every launch in this category leads with privacy language: read-only access, 30-day deletion, data that never reaches the assistant’s servers. Rocket Money’s Aaron Dignan told Anthropic, “Our bar for accuracy needs to be 100%.” Whatever Claude Money ships with, the teams that win in WealthTech will explain data handling as clearly as features. If you are weighing where AI fits your own product, our AI strategy team can help.

Frequently Asked Questions About Claude Money

Is Claude Money available now?

No. Claude Money has only been seen in unreleased interface screens in the Claude iOS app. Anthropic has not announced it, and no release date is known.

Will Claude Money work outside the US?

Nothing is confirmed. TestingCatalog expects a US-only start because bank data providers and regulation differ by country, as they did for ChatGPT’s Finances feature.

Does Claude Money cost extra?

Pricing has not been disclosed. ChatGPT’s comparable feature started with Pro users and later reached Plus, so a paid-plan start for Claude Money would not be unusual, but that is speculation for now.

Can I connect my bank to Claude today?

Yes, indirectly. Third-party connectors such as Era Context and PocketSmith, and Intuit’s Credit Karma app inside Claude, already let users bring account data into Claude conversations, each under its own terms.

References